Dome • Big Russian Encyclopedia - electronic version

Dome of the Shah Mosque in Isfahan. 1612-66. Architect Abu-L-Cases. Photo by A. I. Nagaeva

DOME (Ital. Cupola - dome, arch, from lat. Cupula, decreasing from CUPA - barrel), the spatial carrier structure of the upper (mainly) part of the building or structure, in shape close to the hemisphere or other surfaces of rotation convex the curve around the vertical axis. From the vertical load in K. horizontal efforts (spacers) arise, which are transmitted to the design supporting it or perceived by the lower (reference) ring of K. It is used for overlapping round, elliptic or polygonal in terms of rooms without additional. Intermediate supports.

Dome of St. Petersburg Cathedral in St. Petersburg (inner view). 1818-58. Architect O. R. de Monferran.

K. From stone and burned bricks appeared in antiquity, initially in the form of so-called. False K., in which the horizontal rows of masonry, hanging one over the other, do not transmit the walls of the repalar Mixes , OK. 1350-1250 BC er). I got important to K. in the architecture of ancient Rome with the development of clint arches, arches and especially after the invention of concrete. Overlapping without supporting a large room in the center. Constructions, K. strengthened his role in the architecture. Compositions, gave him a space and celebrations. Majesty, often figuratively expressing the idea of ​​strength and the inviolability of the relig. Representations (Grand Caesonated K. Pantheon in Rome). In the visant. architecture was widely used by K. on Thrompach и sail (appeared in the architecture of the ancient Rome and Iran of the era of Sasanidov), which allowed to erect K. above the room with any configuration of the plan ( Saint Sophia Temple in Constantinople). In the Middle Ages a variety of designs K. in Europe and in the Caucasus were erected by ch. arr. In the temples Cross-domed system [eg, temple JVARI. Near Mtskheta (Georgia), C. St. RipSime in Echmiadzin (Armenia)], and in the feud. States cf. Asia and the Middle East K. were used to overlap centrich. Buildings.

With awareness of the role K. not only in the interior, but in the appearance of the building, the outer outline of K. is changing relative to the internal, and then the outer shells appear above it (differing from the outlines from itself to K.), usually as a curvilinear coating on wood. rafyles (early example - K. St. Mark Cathedral in Venice, 9-11 centuries.). K. with external shells, completing the usual vertical volumes of cult buildings and architects created. or natural environment, gained widespread in Islamic architecture (mosque: Dome of the rock In Jerusalem, Kon. 7th century; Bibi Hanoe in Samarkand, 1399-1405, having an outer and ext. K., et al.) And in Rus. cf.-century. architecture ( Sofia Cathedral in Kiev Sofia Cathedral In Veliky Novgorod, Ser. 11 c.; Temples Vladimir-Suzdal School , 12 - 1st floor. 13 centuries).

In the era of the revival of the interpretation K. as a town-place. Dominants extends to the Zap architecture. Europe - Starting with K. Cathedral Santa Maria del Fiore In Florence (1417-71, Arch F. Bruneland ), where for the first time the double shell K. is bound by stone ribs of rigidity and tree. Rings in a single design, and finishing K. St. Peter Cathedral In Rome (1506-1614, Arch. Michelangelo ). K. often completed cult buildings and in the era Baroque и Classicism 17-18 centuries. With con. 18 V. K. began to be used in secular buildings.

From the 2nd floor. 19th century Instead of brick and stone K., the disadvantages of which are big their own. Weight and time consideration of the construction, K. with Metal methow applied wider. Karcas (for the first time on the project arch. O. R. de Monferran For K. St. Isaac's Cathedral ) and glazing (dome Albert Holla In London), K. from wood and reinforced concrete. In the 20th century With the advent of thin-walled hips, as well as with the development of metal. designs (new dome of the Reichstag building in Berlin, 1994-99, N. Foster ), monolithic and precast reinforced concrete increased dramatically the variety of structures and forms K .: K. ribbed, ribor-ring, with a wavy ext. Surface, as well as "geodesic" R. B. Fuller (diameter up to 150 m), prefab depositated dome P. L. Nervy et al. with gray. 20 V. New types K.: From polymeric materials, with a double inflatable shell (Summer Pavilion, art gallery "Serpentine" in London, 2006, Arch. R. Krax), etc. See also Chapter .

Rubric: Orthodox Temple

Church dome - history, species, symbolism

Find out the most interesting and important about the church dome, reading an article or watching the video at the end of the text.

What is the temple dome?

The dome call the spatial overlap of buildings or premises, in shape close to the hemisphere. In Orthodoxy, the church dome is used as an important architectural and decorative element of temples and chapels.

We are so accustomed to the domes that the temples are no longer thinking without them. Although the main detail of the church is a cross. Church without a dome, but with a cross - all the same Orthodox church, but the temple without a cross is no longer an Orthodox, but the cult facilities related to another denomination.

Church dome
Dome of the five-chapted Orthodox church

Features of temple domes

The domes of churches are of symbolic meaning. There are several types of domes characteristic of Orthodox churches.

Helmet dome

Church dome in the form of a helmet It is found in the housesongol architecture (until the middle of the XIII century). He resemble the believer that the Orthodox Church is a militant church, its members are constantly fighting with sin. The brightest example of the temple with a helmet dome is the Assumption Cathedral in Vladimir.

Spherical dome

Spherical The dome in the Orthodox tradition is a symbol of eternity. This type of dome design came to us from the Roman Empire. The classic spherical dome is decorated with the Cathedral of the Transfiguration of the Lord in Belgorod.

Tents

Tents - Architectural forms in the form of a multifaceted (most often octic) pyramids serving to complete the architectural structure. They symbolize the image of the Holy Spirit or the image of the Virgin. This type of temple roof appeared in Russian Orthodox architecture in the XVI century. Now it is rarely found rarely due to the complexity of the framework of the frame. The famous example of a tent church is the Ascension Church in Kolomensky.

Dome Lukovitsa

The main type of domes of Russian Orthodox churches are Dome-bulb. The origin of such domes is still for scientists the subject of disputes. Some researchers believe that such a roof shape was chosen to facilitate the cleaning of snow and ice from it in the winter.

But the same domes are distributed in southern countries - in India, Turkey and in the Middle East. In Russia, the bulbous dome crosses the highest tower of the Cathedral of Vasily blissful.

Other types of temple domes

There are still many types of domes that are not characteristic of Russian Orthodoxy, but are distributed in other countries or confessions. For example, oval The dome, which is one of the characteristic features of the Baroque style architecture. Or dome-umbrella whose storage is divided into segments by ribs that make up the vertical load. Such dome was distributed in Rome and Byzantium.

Also stand out dome saucer Which are not losing popularity to this day. They are used not only in cult facilities, but also in the interior of modern buildings. This is the lowest type of dome, it allows the most large-scale casting roofs.

Symbolic value of domes

What does the number of domes on the church mean

One dome is a symbol of a single God. Single-oiled churches are found in simple and laconic Novgorod architecture (the church of the Savior in Ilyin Street). Churches with two domes are more characteristic of Catholicism and in Orthodoxy are rare. They point into two Natures of Jesus Christ - Divine and Human. Three domes are associated with the Holy Trinity and in Orthodox architecture are much more common (Smolny Cathedral in St. Petersburg).

Temples with five domes are found in Russia everywhere. Five domes personify the Lord surrounded by four evangelists - the Holy Apostles John, Matthew, Mark and Luke. In the number seven in Orthodoxy a lot of values ​​- seven main virtues, seven universal cathedrals, seven seven church sacraments. Sometimes this list includes seven days of the week. The classic example is the cathedral of the Belogorsk Nikolaev monastery under Perm.

The nine temples remind us of nine angelic ranks - angels, archangels, starts, authorities, strength, domination, thrones, cherubs and seraphims ("saved on blood"). Thirteen domes refer us to the picture of the secret evening - Jesus surrounded by the twelve students. A larger number of domes in Orthodoxy is practically not found.

Colors of domes and their meaning

Why are the domes of churches gold? The fact is that the color of the domes of Orthodox churches is also important. Golden color - The most common. Golden dome usually put on the temples in honor of the great holidays - Christmas, Annunciation, Certification (Assumption, Blagoveshchensky and Arkhangelsk Kremlin Cathedrals).

Nowadays, the complex and cost-in-law of applying a leaf gold dome gave way to the method of applying titanium nitride. The modern analog that is much less capricious in leaving and much longer.

Blue dome The stars usually bang over the churches of the Nativity of Christ or above the temples dedicated to the Mother of God. In the first case, the stars on a blue background symbolize the Bethlehem star, which referred to the place of birth of the Savior. In the second - on the cover of the Most Holy Virgin, who is often portrayed in the icons in blue and with the "star" pattern (Trinity-Izmailovsky Cathedral in St. Petersburg).

Silver color At the domes it is quite rare. It symbolizes purity and holiness. Temples with silver domes are almost always consecrated in honor of the Saints (Sofia Cathedral in Novgorod). The black color of the domes is even less common. This color in Orthodoxy is associated with monasses, because of what the black matte dome is decorated in the main monastery temples (the Cathedral of the Don Monastery in Moscow).

Green color In Orthodoxy - the symbol of the Holy Spirit. Therefore, most often the green domes rise above the temples in honor of the Holy Trinity (Temple Complex "Kulich and Easter" in St. Petersburg).

Latest type of domes - Multicolored which meets less frequently. He is known for us in such monumental works of Russian Orthodox architecture as the Cathedral of Vasily Blessed in Moscow and "Savior on Blood" in St. Petersburg. Multicolored domes testify to believers about the indescribable beauty of the kingdom of heaven.

Add a Comment

КУПОЛ • Большая российская энциклопедия - электронная версия

Купол Шахской мечети в Исфахане. 1612–66. Архитектор Абу-ль-Казем.Фото А. И. Нагаева

КУ́ПОЛ (итал. cupola – ку­пол, свод, от лат. cupula, умень­ши­тель­ное от cupa – боч­ка), про­стран­ст­вен­ная не­су­щая кон­ст­рук­ция верх­ней (пре­иму­щест­вен­но) час­ти зда­ния или со­ору­же­ния, по фор­ме близ­кая к по­лу­сфе­ре ли­бо др. по­верх­но­сти вра­ще­ния вы­пук­лой на­ру­жу кри­вой во­круг вер­ти­каль­ной оси. От вер­ти­каль­ной на­груз­ки в К. воз­ни­ка­ют го­ри­зон­таль­ные уси­лия (рас­пор), ко­то­рые пе­ре­да­ют­ся на под­дер­жи­ваю­щую его кон­ст­рук­цию или вос­при­ни­ма­ют­ся ниж­ним (опор­ным) коль­цом са­мо­го К. При­ме­ня­ет­ся для пе­ре­кры­тия круг­лых, эл­лип­ти­че­ских или мно­го­уголь­ных в пла­не по­ме­ще­ний без до­пол­нит. про­ме­жу­точ­ных опор.

Купол Исаакиевского собора в Санкт-Петербурге (внутренний вид). 1818–58. Архитектор О. Р. де Монферран.

К. из кам­ня и обож­жён­но­го кир­пи­ча поя­ви­лись в древ­но­сти, пер­во­на­чаль­но – в ви­де т. н. лож­ных К., в ко­то­рых го­ри­зон­таль­ные ря­ды клад­ки, на­ви­сая один над дру­гим, не пе­ре­да­ют сте­нам уси­лий рас­по­ра («гроб­ни­ца Ат­рея» в Ми­ке­нах, ок. 1350–1250 до н. э.). Важ­ное зна­че­ние по­лу­чил К. в ар­хи­тек­ту­ре Древ­не­го Ри­ма с раз­ви­ти­ем клин­ча­тых арок, сво­дов и осо­бен­но по­сле изо­бре­те­ния бе­то­на. Пе­ре­кры­вая без опор боль­шое по­ме­ще­ние в цен­трич. со­ору­же­ни­ях, К. уси­ли­вал его роль в ар­хит. ком­по­зи­ции, при­да­вал ему про­стор и тор­жеств. ве­ли­че­ст­вен­ность, не­ред­ко об­раз­но вы­ра­жая идею си­лы и не­зыб­ле­мость ре­лиг. пред­став­ле­ний (гран­ди­оз­ный кес­со­ни­ро­ван­ный К. Пан­те­о­на в Ри­ме). В ви­зант. ар­хитек­ту­ре ши­ро­ко при­ме­ня­лись К. на тром­пах и па­ру­сах (поя­вив­ших­ся ещё в зод­че­ст­ве Древ­не­го Ри­ма и Ира­на эпо­хи Са­са­ни­дов), что по­зво­ля­ло воз­во­дить К. над по­ме­ще­ни­ем с лю­бой кон­фи­гу­ра­ци­ей пла­на (Свя­той Со­фии храм в Кон­стан­ти­но­по­ле). В сред­ние ве­ка раз­но­образ­ные по кон­ст­рук­ции К. в Ев­ро­пе и на Кав­ка­зе воз­во­ди­ли гл. обр. в хра­мах кре­сто­во-ку­поль­ной сис­те­мы [напр., храм Джва­ри близ Мцхе­ты (Гру­зия), ц. Св. Рип­си­мэ в Эч­ми­ад­зи­не (Ар­ме­ния)], а в феод. го­су­дар­ст­вах Ср. Азии и Ближ­не­го Вос­то­ка К. при­ме­ня­лись для пе­ре­кры­тия цен­трич. зда­ний.

С осоз­на­ни­ем ро­ли К. не толь­ко в ин­терь­е­ре, но и во внеш­нем об­ли­ке зда­ния из­ме­ня­ют­ся на­руж­ные очер­та­ния К. от­но­си­тель­но внут­рен­них, а за­тем над ним по­яв­ля­ют­ся внеш­ние обо­лоч­ки (от­ли­чаю­щие­ся по очер­та­ни­ям от соб­ст­вен­но К.), обыч­но в ви­де кри­во­ли­ней­но­го по­кры­тия по де­рев. стро­пи­лам (ран­ний при­мер – К. Свя­то­го Мар­ка со­бо­ра в Ве­не­ции, 9–11 вв.). К. с внеш­ни­ми обо­лоч­ка­ми, за­вер­шав­шие обыч­но вер­ти­каль­ные объ­ё­мы куль­то­вых зда­ний и соз­дан­ные с учё­том ар­хит. или при­род­но­го ок­ру­же­ния, по­лу­чи­ли ши­ро­кое рас­про­стра­не­ние в ис­лам­ском зод­че­ст­ве (ме­чети: Ку­пол ска­лы в Ие­ру­са­ли­ме, кон. 7 в.; Би­би-Ха­ным в Са­мар­кан­де, 1399–1405, имею­щая внеш­ний и внутр. К., и др.) и в рус. ср.-век. ар­хи­тек­ту­ре (Со­фий­ский со­бор в Кие­ве, Со­фий­ский со­бор в Ве­ли­ком Нов­го­ро­де, сер. 11 в.; хра­мы вла­ди­ми­ро-суз­даль­ской шко­лы, 12 – 1-я пол. 13 вв.).

В эпо­ху Воз­ро­ж­де­ния трак­тов­ка К. как гра­до­стро­ит. до­ми­нан­ты рас­про­стра­ня­ет­ся в ар­хи­тек­ту­ре Зап. Ев­ро­пы – на­чи­ная с К. со­бо­ра Сан­та-Ма­рия-дель-Фьо­ре во Фло­рен­ции (1417–71, арх. Ф. Бру­нел­ле­ски), где впер­вые двой­ная обо­лоч­ка К. свя­за­на ка­мен­ны­ми рёб­ра­ми жё­ст­ко­сти и де­рев. коль­ца­ми в еди­ную кон­ст­рук­цию, и за­кан­чи­вая К. Свя­то­го Пет­ра со­бо­ра в Ри­ме (1506–1614, арх. Ми­ке­ланд­же­ло). К. час­то за­вер­ша­ли куль­то­вые зда­ния и в эпо­ху ба­рок­ко и клас­си­циз­ма 17–18 вв. С кон. 18 в. К. ста­ли ис­поль­зо­вать­ся в свет­ских по­строй­ках.

Со 2-й пол. 19 в. вме­сто кир­пич­ных и ка­мен­ных К., не­дос­тат­ка­ми ко­то­рых яв­ля­ют­ся боль­шой собств. вес и тру­до­ём­кость воз­ве­де­ния, всё ши­ре при­ме­ня­ют­ся К. с ме­тал­лич. кар­ка­сом (впер­вые по про­ек­ту арх. О. Р. де Мон­фер­ра­на для К. Исаа­ки­ев­ско­го со­бо­ра) и ос­тек­ле­ни­ем (ку­пол Аль­берт-хол­ла в Лон­до­не), К. из де­ре­ва и же­ле­зо­бе­то­на. В 20 в. с по­яв­ле­ни­ем тон­ко­стен­ных сво­дов-обо­ло­чек, а так­же с раз­ви­ти­ем ме­тал­лич. кон­ст­рук­ций (но­вый ку­пол зда­ния Рейх­ста­га в Бер­ли­не, 1994–99, Н. Фос­тер), мо­но­лит­но­го и сбор­но­го же­ле­зо­бе­то­на рез­ко уве­ли­чи­лось мно­го­об­ра­зие кон­струк­ций и форм К.: поя­ви­лись К. реб­ри­стые, реб­ри­сто-коль­це­вые, с вол­ни­стой внутр. по­верх­но­стью, а так­же «гео­де­зи­че­ские» Р. Б. Фул­ле­ра (диа­мет­ром до 150 м), сбор­ные за­мо­но­ли­чен­ные ку­по­ла П. Л. Нер­ви и др. С сер. 20 в. со­ору­жа­ют­ся но­вые ти­пы К.: из по­ли­мер­ных ма­те­риа­лов, с двой­ной на­дув­ной обо­лоч­кой (лет­ний па­виль­он ху­дож. га­ле­реи «Сер­пен­тайн» в Лон­до­не, 2006, арх. Р. Кол­хас) и др. См. так­же Гла­ва.

Рубрика: Православный храм

Церковный купол — история, виды, символизм

Узнайте все самое интересное и важное о церковном куполе, прочитав статью или посмотрев видео в конце текста

Что такое купол храма?

Куполом называют пространственное перекрытие зданий или помещений, по форме близкое к полусфере. В Православии церковный купол используется как важный архитектурный и декоративный элемент храмов и часовен.

Мы так привыкли к куполам, что уже не мыслим себе храмов без них. Хотя главная деталь навершия церкви это крест. Церковь без купола, но с крестом — всё та же православная церковь А вот храм без креста — это уже не православное, а относящееся к другой конфессии культовое сооружение.

церковный купол
Купола пятиглавого православного храма

Особенности храмовых куполов

Купола церквей имеют символическое значение. Выделяется несколько типов куполов, характерных для православных храмов.

Шлемовидный купол

Церковный купол в виде шлема встречается в домонгольском зодчестве (до середины XIII века). Он напоминают верующим, что Православная церковь — церковь воинствующая, её члены постоянно борются с грехом. Ярчайший пример храма со шлемовидным куполом — Успенский собор во Владимире. 

Сферический купол

Сферический купол в православной традиции есть символ вечности. Такой тип конструкции купола пришёл к нам из Римской империи. Классический сферический купол украшает собор Преображения Господня в Белгороде.

Шатры

Шатры — архитектурные формы в виде многогранной (чаще всего восьмигранной) пирамиды, служащие для завершения архитектурного сооружения. Они символизируют образ Святого Духа или образ Богородицы. Такой тип храмовой кровли появился в Русском православном зодчестве в XVI веке. Сейчас встречается достаточно редко из-за сложности сооружения каркаса. Известный пример шатрового храма — церковь Вознесения в Коломенском.

Купола-луковицы

Основным типом куполов Русских Православных храмов являются купола-луковицы. Происхождение таких куполов до сих пор является для учёных предметом споров. Некоторые исследователи считают, что такая форма кровли была выбрана, чтобы облегчить уборку снега и льда с неё в зимний период.

Но такие же купола распространены и в южных странах — в Индии, Турции и на Среднем Востоке. В России луковичный купол венчает самую высокую башню собора Василия Блаженного.

Другие виды храмовых куполов

Существует ещё множество типов куполов, которые не характерны для Русского Православия, но распространены в других странах или конфессиях. Например, овальный купол, который является одной из характерных черт архитектуры стиля барокко. Или купол-зонтик, свод которого разделён на сегменты рёбрами, принимающими на себя вертикальную нагрузку. Такие купола были распространены в Риме и Византии. 

Также выделяются купола-блюдца, которые не теряют популярности по сей день. Они используются не только в культовых сооружениях, но и в интерьере современных зданий. Это самый низкий тип купола, он позволяет сооружать наиболее масштабные куполовидные кровли.

Символическое значение куполов

Что означает количество куполов на церкви

Один купол — символ Единого Бога. Однокупольные церкви встречаются в простом и лаконичном новгородском зодчестве (Церковь Спаса на Ильине улице). Церкви с двумя куполами больше характерны для католичества и в православии встречаются редко. Они указывают на две природы Иисуса Христа — божественную и человеческую. Три купола ассоциируются со Святой Троицей и в православной архитектуре встречаются куда чаще (Смольный собор в Санкт-Петербурге).

Храмы с пятью куполами встречаются в России повсеместно. Пять куполов олицетворяют Господа в окружении четырёх евангелистов — святых апостолов Иоанна, Матфея, Марка и Луки. У числа семь в православии множество значений — семь главных добродетелей, семь Вселенских Соборов, семь семь церковных Таинств. Иногда в этот перечень включают семь дней недели. Классический пример — собор Белогорского Николаевского монастыря под Пермью.

Девятиглавые храмы напоминают нам о девяти ангельских чинах — Ангелы, Архангелы, Начала, Власти, Силы, Господства, Престолы, Херувимы и Серафимы (“Спас на крови”). Тринадцать куполов отсылают нас к картине Тайной Вечери — Иисус в окружении двенадцати учеников. Большее количество куполов в Православии практически не встречается.

Цвета куполов и их значение

Почему купола церквей золотые? Дело в том, что цвет куполов православных храмов тоже имеет значение. Золотой цвет — самый распространённый. Золотые купола обычно ставят над храмами в честь великих праздников — Рождества, Благовещения, Сретения (Успенский, Благовещенский и Архангельский кремлёвские соборы).

В наше время сложная и затратная технология нанесения на основу купола сусального золота уступила место способу нанесения нитрида титана. Современный аналог который куда менее капризен в уходе и куда более долговечен.

Синие купола со звёздами обычно красуются над церквями Рождества Христова или над храмами, посвящёнными Божьей Матери. В первом случае звёзды на синем фоне символизируют Вифлеемскую звезду, указавшую на место рождения Спасителя. Во втором — на покров Пресвятой Богородицы, который на иконах нередко изображается синим и со “звёздным” узором (Троице-Измайловский собор в Санкт-Петербурге).

Серебряный цвет на куполах встречается довольно редко. Он символизирует чистоту и святость. Храмы с куполами серебряного цвета почти всегда освящены в честь святых (Софийский собор в Новгороде). Чёрный цвет куполов встречается ещё реже. Этот цвет в православии связан с монашеством, из-за чего чёрные матовые купола украшают в основном монастырские храмы (собор Донского монастыря в Москве).

Зелёный цвет в Православии — символ Святого Духа. Поэтому чаще всего зелёные купола возвышаются над храмами в честь Святой Троицы (храмовый комплекс “Кулич и пасха” в Санкт-Петербурге).

Последний вид куполов — разноцветный, который встречается реже всего. Он известен нам по таким монументальным произведениям русского православного зодчества, как собор Василия Блаженного в Москве и “Спас на крови” в Санкт-Петербурге. Разноцветные купола свидетельствуют верующим о неописуемой красоте Царства Небесного.

Add a Comment